Cookies on this website

We would like to put some small files called cookies on your device to make our website work properly.

We would also like to use analytics cookies to help us improve our site. Please let us know if this is OK. We'll use a cookie to save your choice.

I'm OK with analytics cookies

Don't use analytics cookies

Energy UK Annual Conference Programme

Wednesday 18 October 2023

AC Website Banner 800x420v2

Today, Energy UK is launching Energy Matters: People, power, prosperity

A proposal for partnership to unlock investment, transform the economy and deliver change.

10.30 – 11.00

Coffee and registration

11.00 – 11.15

Welcome Speech: Emma Pinchbeck, Chief Executive Officer, Energy UK

11.15 – 11.30

Keynote Speech: John Pettigrew FEI FIET, Chief Executive Officer, National Grid

11.30 – 12.15

Panel Discussion 1: People

Experts from across the sector will examine the opportunities and challenges facing the energy retail market, and how customers can be supported through the transition to Net Zero.

Speakers to include:

  • Gillian Cooper, Head of Energy Policy, Citizens Advice
  • Madeleine Gabriel, Mission Director, NESTA
  • Michael Jary, Managing Director, Sense (Chair)
  • Chris Norbury, Chief Executive Officer, E.ON UK

This panel is sponsored by:

SENSE Brand Logo

12.15 – 12.30

Keynote Speech: Rt Hon. Edward Miliband MP, Shadow Secretary of State for Energy Security and Net Zero
12.30 – 13.30

Lunch and networking

13.30 – 13.45

Keynote Speech: Nick Winser CBE FREng, National Infrastructure Commissioner

13.45 – 14.30

Panel Discussion 2: Power

A panel of industry leaders will consider priorities for the infrastructure and regulations supporting the renewable energy and wider energy system.

Speakers to include:

  • Tom Glover, UK Country Chair, RWE 
  • Silke Goldberg, Partner, Herbert Smith Freehills (Chair)
  • Zoe Morrissey, Legal Counsel, National Grid ESO
  • Nick Winser CBE FREng, National Infrastructure Commissioner

14.30 – 14.45

Keynote Speech: Rt Hon. Claire Coutinho MP, Secretary of State for Energy Security and Net Zero
14.45 – 15.15

Networking break

15.15 – 15.30

Keynote Speech: Jonathan Brearley, Chief Executive Officer, Ofgem

15.30 – 16.15

Panel Discussion 3: Prosperity

This panel will bring together perspectives from across a range of sectors to explore how the UK can create the best possible investment climate, and what the sector needs to see from the Government.

Speakers to include:

  • Alexandra Malone, Director of Corporate Affairs, SSE Renewables
  • Alex O’Cinneide, CEO and Chair of the Investment Committee, Gore Street Capital
  • Daisy Powell-Chandler, Head of Energy + Environment, Public First (Chair)
  • Raj Roy, Group General Counsel, Centrica

16.15 – 16.30

Closing Remarks: Rt Hon. David Laws, Chair, Energy UK